All Things Tarun

  • 10:33:15 am on June 15, 2010 | 2
    Tags: , , , ,

    Well, I scored a victory and got my e-mail receipt:

    But now, I feel I made a mistake. If the iPhone shoots 720p video, it depends on what kind of compression algorithm and aspect ratio it uses to measure how big the file is. If it is too big per video, it may eat my space up. And pictures too have also increased about 1MB per picture. So, tough to say whether I made the right choice by reserving a 16GB. One guy did an analysis on the idea, and here is his conclusion:

    So like last year, the jump in the still camera mega pixels won’t affect your space enough for you to warrant an upgrade to 32GB if you are currently happy with your 16GB iPhone, but if you are planning on shooting a decent amount of video…that’s a different story. When you factor in all storage you’re already using for apps, music, and pictures you aren’t left with much. Even with a 32GB model most people won’t be able to hold anything near my calculated 250 mins which would take up about 60% (more like 90% with true 720p) of the total storage. So with this in mind I can’t recommend saving the $100.

    Sounds convincing, but still unsure. The Apple Store says they can reserve two under one line, so I am trying again right now (with little success) to get a 32GB iPhone reserved.

     

Comments

  • appjudge 1:07 pm on June 17, 2010 | # | Reply

    The new iPhone looks great, but like many people, I am disappointed with the lack of an upgrade in terms of capacity- for a media centric phone, 16GB really isn’t enough.

    • Tarun 4:20 pm on June 17, 2010 | # | Reply

      I have really cut down the number of songs I put on my phone and since I think the future of listening to music is in library streaming over the air, 16GB should be enough. In fact, this may be why the flash memory wasn’t upgraded.


Leave a Reply

