All Things Tarun

  • 02:31:43 pm on November 21, 2010 | 0
    Tags: , , , , ,

    I’ve heard a lot of sick and disgraceful things when it comes to the TSA lately, but some of the stories that are coming out are simply unbelievable. This person had a urostromy bag due to a medical condition, and had sufficiently warned the TSA that any tampering with the bag could cause the seal to break and excrement to leak on him:

    One agent watched as the other used his flat hand to go slowly down my chest. I tried to warn him that he would hit the bag and break the seal on my bag, but he ignored me. Sure enough, the seal was broken and urine started dribbling down my shirt and my leg and into my pants.

    It is perfectly understandable to want to check someone for explosives or weird liquids, but the way this man was treated, particularly after the incident, is incredible. This is just one example of the numerous stories coming out these days. Here’s another:

    She put her full hand on my breast and said, ‘What is this?’.  And I said, ‘It’s my prosthesis because I’ve had breast cancer.’ And she said, ‘Well, you’ll need to show me that’.

    Apparently according to TSA policies, it is not required that you remove your prosthetic device or brace. Clearly that TSA person didn’t get the memo.

    I’m not saying that the entire TSA organization is poorly representing security standards, but the increasing number of “bad eggs” being displayed to the media are really showing the organization’s true colors. Many airports are now opting out of using the TSA for screening for other, private companies. Many other countries don’t even use x-ray machines — it is only post 9/11 America that seems to be going insane about the procedures. We definitely do need new procedures, but we certainly don’t need to violate people in the process. I am thrilled that there is a silent boycott right now, because incidents like the ones above do not need to occur. At all.

     

Leave a Reply

